Idaho law requires the licensure of all persons who practice or offer to practice as a nursing home administrator in the State of Idaho. Licensure is available through both endorsement and examination. Every applicant must certify under oath that they will abide by the laws and rules governing the practice of nursing home administration in Idaho. Applications must be submitted 45 days prior to the exam date.
All applicants for examination must provide written evidence satisfactory to the board of either:
1 - Successful completion of a course of study for a baccalaureate degree and of the receipt of such degree from an accredited institution of higher learning;
2 - Two (2) years of satisfactory practical experience in management in a health care facility for each year of required post-high school education.
3 - Successful completion of an administrator-in-training program as described in Section 54-1610, Idaho Code.
Applicants who have successfully completed a course of study from an accredited institution of higher learning and been awarded either:
1 - A master's degree in health administration related to long-term care
2 - A master's degree in health administration and who have one (1) year management experience in long-term care
are eligible for the examination without additional preparation.
All applicants for endorsement must provide written evidence satisfactory to the board of:
1 - Holding a valid and current nursing home administrator license issued in another state; and
2 - One of the following: and
- a - One year of experience as an Administrator-In-Training in another state; or
- b - A total of one year of combined experience obtained in an Administrator-In-Training program and from practical experience as an administrator in another state; or
- c - A master's degree in health administration related to long-term care from an accredited institution; or
- d - A master's degree in health administration from an accredited institution and one year management experience in long-term care.
3 - Not having been found guilty or convicted or received a withheld judgment or suspended sentence for any felony or any crime involving moral turpitude or received discipline for a license offense in any state; and
4 - Having taken and successfully passed the NAB examination; and
5 - Having taken and successfully completed the State of Idaho examination.
NURSING HOME ADMINISTRATORS-IN-TRAINING
Every applicant for a Nursing Home Administrator license who shall have otherwise qualified under provisions of Section 54-1605, Idaho Code, shall serve for a one year period under the supervision of a duly licensed and registered Nursing Home Administrator in accordance with the rules of the Board. At the expiration of the one-year-in-training period, said applicant shall be eligible to take the examination.
Each trainee must register with the Board as a Nursing Home Administrator-In-Training (AIT) by submitting an application together with the required fee. The effective date of an AIT program will be the date the Board approves the application.
AITs must work on a full time basis in an Idaho licensed nursing home. Full time means a 40 hour per week work schedule with consideration for normal leave taken. Failure to comply with this rule will result in no credit being allowed for the AIT program.
AITs must spend no less than 32 hours a month with the preceptor in a training and/or observational situation in the six areas of nursing home administration as outlined in Rule 400.03. A list of approved preceptors is also available.
Quarterly reports for AITs are required and must reflect that the preceptor of the trainee has instructed, assisted and given assignments as deemed necessary to fulfill the requirements of Rule 400.03. Quarterly reports must reflect particular emphasis on the six phases of nursing home administration during the time spent in the nursing home.
RESPONSIBILITIES OF THE PRECEPTOR
To be a preceptor, you must be a licensed Nursing Home Administrator in the State of Idaho. (A preceptor cannot be a temporary permit holder.) Rule 400.05a requires the preceptor (supervisor) to be certified by the Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators. Reference Section 54-1610, Idaho Code.
As a preceptor, you are required to have personal contact with the trainee no less than thirty-two (32) hours a month, instructing, assisting, and giving assignments as you deem necessary to fulfill the requirements of the Nursing Home Administratorsí Rule 400.
Quarterly reports for those trainees employed in a nursing home must reflect that the preceptor of the trainee has had personal contact no less than thirty-two (32) hours a month, in instruction, assisting and giving assignments as deemed necessary to fulfill the requirements of Rule 400.03.
The preceptor shall also verify the quarterly reports of the Nursing Home Administrator-In-Training by his notarized signature on the quarterly reports.
All applicants must complete and submit an application with the required documentation and appropriate fees.
You may download Application Forms here or request an application by writing:
Board of Examiners of Nursing Home Administrators
Bureau of Occupational Licenses
1109 Main St., Suite 220
Boise, ID 83702-5642
Nursing Home Facilities are licensed and regulated by the Department of Health & Welfare's Bureau of Facility Standards.
Resources for Facility Operation