Contractors Must Provide Disclosures

Idaho law requires general contractors to provide certain
disclosures to property owners and customers.

Initial Disclosure

General contractors must provide a disclosure statement,
prior to entering into a contract in excess of $2,000 to
construct, alter or repair residential real property, or for
the purchase and sale of newly constructed property. The
contractor must also provide an acknowledgment of receipt
to be executed by homeowner or purchaser, retain proof of
receipt and provide a copy to the homeowner or purchaser.
The statement must include the following disclosures:

I. The customer has the right, at their reasonable expense,
to require the general contractor to obtain lien waivers
from any subcontractors providing services or materials.

2. The customer has the right to receive proof that the
general contractor has general liability insurance, including
completed operations and workers’ compensation
insurance for employees.

3. The customer must be informed of the opportunity to
purchase an extended policy of title insurance covering
unfilled or unrecorded liens.

4. The customer has the right to require, at their expense,
a surety bond in an amount up to the value of the construc-
tion project.

Disclosure Upon Completion

A general contractor must provide an additional disclosure
statement, within a reasonable time either: before receipt of
final payment from the customer for construction, altera-
tion, or repair of any property, or before closing on a
purchase and sales agreement with a prospective purchaser.
The following requirements apply:

I. The general contractor must sign the disclosure
statement.

2. The disclosure statement must list the business names,
addresses and telephone numbers of all subcontractors,
materialmen and rental equipment providers who have a
direct contractual relationship with the general contractor
and who supplied materials or performed work on the
residential property of a value in excess of $500.

3. Subcontractors, materialmen and rental equipment
providers listed in the disclosure statement are authorized
to disclose balances owed to the homeowner or purchaser
and their agents.

4. The general contractor is not liable for any error, inaccu-
racy or omission of any information delivered pursuant to
Idaho Code § 45-525(3) if the error, inaccuracy or omission
was not within the general contractor’s personal knowl-
edge.

Pursuant to Idaho Law, failure to provide the required
disclosures constitutes an unlawful and deceptive act or
practice in trade or commerce under the Idaho Consumer
Protection Act. The Contractors Board may discipline a
registered contractor for a violation of the Ildaho Consumer
Protection Act.

Please consult your personal attorney with any questions
about the required disclosures.
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Are Contractors Required to Be
Registered in Idaho?

Yes. The ldaho Legislature recently passed
legislation requiring all building contractors and
any subcontractors to be registered with the
Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses.

Who Must Register?

Any person who improves, alters or repairs a
building or structure with a dollar amount
exceeding $2,000.00 (materials & labor) unless
otherwise exempt must register. For a defini-
tion of construction and a full list of exemptions,
please visit the Frequently Asked Questions link
on our webpage or check Idaho Code 54-5201.

Why Am I Required to Register?

The State of ldaho has created these registra-
tion requirements in the interest of protecting
the health, safety and welfare of Idaho’s public.
The law provides a mechanism to remove from
practice those dishonest or fraudulent praction-
ers of construction.

What if 1 Don't Register?
If you fail to register and practice, the following
penalties apply:

4‘ No Lien Rights -You lose the right to lien
property to collect amounts due.

No Contract Rights -you lose your right
to sue to collect money for work under any
contract for which you must have been
registered.
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You could be charged with a misdemeanor
criminal offense.
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How Do I Register?
Follow the simple steps below:

© Complete registration application, sign
and have notarized

Registration applications are available
online to download at:
www.ibol.idaho.gov/cont.htm

® $30 registration fee. Please make
check or money order payable to:
Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses

® Copy of liability insurance (minimum
$300,000 aggregate)

O Certificate of workers’ compensation
coverage (You can obtain information
regarding workers’ compensation at
the following website:
www.ibol.idaho.gov)

©® Full list of owners with addresses

® Mail items listed in @ — @ to:
Bureau of Occupational Licenses

700 WEST STATE STREET,
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0063

Registraton requires the submission of
supplemental documents listed in steps ©
— O with your application before your
registration can be considered.

Registration is not available via telephone.

So don't delay -register today!

Do not delay -your business could be adversely
affected if you are not registered. Consumers,
suppliers and lenders frequently verify registra-
tions. Avoid delays that could potentially cost
you. To download an application visit our
website at:

www.ibol.idaho.gov/cont.htm
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Our mission is to provide competent,
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to the boards and public.
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